Copy

Welcome B(l)ack!

Happy New Year folx! Let's get back and poppin' for this semester! 

UPCOMING JANUARY PROGRAMS

A Night with
Jemele Hills


FREE for members of BSAC. 
Includes a pre-show reception! 
Lunch Provided
 
Thursday, January 23, 6:30 pm
Zellerbach Auditorium 


RSVP: Email jordyn.elliott@berkeley.edu
BRRC Internship and Volunteer Info Session & Scholarship Launch

Looking to invest and give back to the community? Want to play an active role in community-rooted work? Interested in applying for the BRRC Scholarship? 

Dinner Provided
 
Tuesday, January 28 6:00-7:30pm
Tilden (5th floor of MLK)

 

UPCOMING FEBRUARY PROGRAMS

K-12 School Outreach & Community College Outreach
dates & location vary; contact us if you are interested in supporting us

General Body Meeting #1
Tuesday, February 4, 6:00-8:00 pm, Tilden (5th Floor of MLK)

Community Movie Night: The Photograph 
Friday, February 14, Time TBA, Regal UA Berkeley

BRRC Day with Cal Athletics Black Heritage Day
Sunday, February 16, Festival begins 12 pm, Haas Pavilion

BRRC Scholarship Due
Wednesday, February 19, 11:59 pm

Study Jam (with Wellness Kit & Free Greenbooks)
Date, Time, and Location TBA

 

UPCOMING MARCH PROGRAMS

General Body Meeting #2
Tuesday, March 3,  6:00-8:00 pm, Tilden (5th Floor of MLK)

bridges’xBRRC Anti-Blackness Restorative Justice Symposium 
Tuesday, March 10, Time and Location TBA

Building Black Capital
Wednesday, March 11, 3:00-4:30 pm, Location TBA
Securing capital & funding for your student organization; Get help completing your ABSA, and learn more on-campus financial resources for your student organization.

BRRC 2020-2021 Board Application Info Session
Thursday, March 12,  6:00-7:00 pm, Tilden (5th floor of MLK)

Night with Laverne Cox (+ reception)
Thursday, March 12, 8 pm, Zellerbach Auditorium 

Ebony Ball: A Night in Nola
Saturday, March 20, 7-10 pm, Pauley Ballroom 

Night with Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater (+ reception)
Tuesday, March 31, 8 pm, Zellerbach Auditorium 

Phone Banking for Senior Weekend
Monday, March 30 - Thursday, April 2, Time TBA, Sproul Hall

SAT/ACT Courses (six sessions)
Date, Time, and Location TBA

UPCOMING APRIL PROGRAMS

Phone Banking for Senior Weekend
Monday, March 30 - Thursday, April 2, Time TBA, Sproul Hall. 

Senior Weekend Host & Volunteer Training
Wednesday, April 5, 6:45-7:45 pm, Fannie Lou Hamer Center (HFA D-3)

General Body Meeting #3
Tuesday, April 7, 6:00-8:00 pm, Tilden (5th floor of MLK)

SAT/ACT Courses (six sessions)
Date, Time, and Location TBA

Shadow Day w/ YWCA
Wednesday, April 8, 2020

Black Wednesday
Wednesday, April 8, 12:00-2:00 pm, In front of Golden Bear Cafe

Senior Weekend (Overnight stay for Newly Admitted Highschool Seniors)
Thursday, April 16 - Sunday, April, 19

Apollo Night
Friday, April 17th, Time TBA, International House

Community BBQ
Saturday, April 18, 1:00-5:00 pm, Willard Park

Black at Cal Visit Day (In conjunction with Cal Day & Community BBQ)
Saturday, April 18, Time TBA, Location TBA

UPCOMING MAY PROGRAMS

Transfer Weekend (Overnight stay for Newly Admitted Transfer Students) 
Friday, May 1 - Sunday May 3

bridges’ Study Jam  
Monday, May 4 - Friday, May 8, 12:00 pm-12:00 am,  Multicultural Community Center (MCC)

Intern/Volunteer Appreciation
Monday, May 11, Time and Location TBA

ABOUT US

The Black Recruitment and Retention Center is a student-initiated, AND entirely a student ran organization that was founded in 1983. 

The purpose of the BRRC is to supplement, expand, and create efforts on campus and within the community toward the recruitment and retention of Black students. We are one of 7 RRCs in the bridges’ Multicultural Resource Centers, a coalition of 8 organizations.
PLEASE NOTE: This is a tentative schedule.

Our Spring  2020 Office hours will be announced during the info session. 

Find us online

Link
Website
Email
view this email in your browser