Global Meeting of Regional Road Safety Observatories ⌵︎
This virtual global conference is being organized by the regional road safety observatories in Africa (ARSO), Asia-Pacific (APRSO) and Ibero-America (OISEVI), with the support of international development organizations, including the World Bank, the African Development Bank (AfDB), the Asian Development Bank (ADB), the World Health Organization (WHO), the International Transport Forum (ITF) and the Fédération Internationale de l' Automobile (FIA) who have been collaborating on the development of these observatories to improve availability and quality of road safety data since in 2018 . 

Effective action can only be taken if it is targeted and measured with accurate data: good data are a necessary -albeit not sufficient- condition for the design and implementation of good road safety policies. ln turn, having accurate data requires the development of transparent and rigorous collection methods. It is essential that these collection methods converge into standard international criteria and have stability in time, thus allowing for comparisons in space -across countries- and in time. Regional observatories in Africa, Asia-Pacific and Ibero-America are developing through work programs to improve road safety data management in their member countries. Other regions are expressing interest in this subjet too, for example the EaP and the Balkans. The history and experience from the European Union long-established road safety observatory (ERSO) can bring considerable contribution to these discussion.

This global conference will help keep the momentum created at the Third Global Ministerial Conference on Road Safety held in Stockholm last February, and contribute to strengthening collaboration and harmonization across these regional observatories.

There will be simultaenous interpretation in English, French, Russian and Spanish.
Featured Speakers ⌵︎
Jean Todt
UN Special Envoy for Road Safety, FIA president
Bambang Susantono
ADB Vice President for Knowledge Management and Sustainable Development
Adina Ioana Valean
EU Commissioner of Transport
Naoko Yamamoto
WHO Assistant Director-General (TBC)

Amani Abou-Zeid
AU Commissioner of Transport

Rebeca Grynspan
Secretary General SEGIB
Makhtar Diop
World Bank Vice President Transport

Young Tae Kim
Secretary-General ITF

For more information, please email: or
Share Share
Tweet Tweet
Forward Forward
Share Share
Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.