Copy
Dear <<First Name>>,
I'm trying something different this month.  The Informer will only be in this format.   If your email isn't showing it correctly, click on the link at the top of the page that says, "View this email in your browser."  I know many of you like to print the newsletter each month.  You might try just printing the email. You can also copy and paste the text into a Word document; you won't get all the fancy graphics but it will be readable. Learning new things; always fun! Let me know how this format works for you. This will be an evolving project.
Katie
Click HERE to register for the meeting.
Dr. Brad Ingrao, Au.D, a long-time HLAA supporter, former Long Beach Chapter member and frequent presenter at National Conventions and Webinars will lead us through a few basic exercises that will get your auditory neurons pumping.

He’s currently the Director of Audiology at the Hearing, Speech and Deaf Center in Seattle, WA and will join us via Zoom.  As per his usual, Dr. Ingrao will leave time for Q&A, but please don’t be disappointed if he doesn’t wear a spandex jumpsuit and ballet shoes!
Paul Marillo from GetSetUp will speak on captions and the Zoom platform.   

Paul Marillo is the head of Partnerships at GetSetUp, an online learning and social community built exclusively for older adults. GetSetUp offers 200+ classes ranging from basic technology classes such as Zoom, to healthy living and topical social hours, where popular topics are discussed and shared. It is important to note that all GetSetUp classes are taught live by other retired older adults who are former teachers, professionals and technologists. GetSetUp is already deployed in over 19 states in the USA.
Craig Bowlby has resigned as our Chapter Treasurer.  Ram Kakkar has volunteered to be our Interim Treasurer.  It is quite complicated to officially change Treasurers at the bank.  A few of us have to go to the bank together and sign paperwork. Due to the pandemic, the difficulties of meeting at the bank, maintaining social distances and hearing with social distancing at the bank, the Board decided to keep things as they are for now.  Gail Morrison, as President, can sign any checks that are necessary.  Ram will take care of the record-keeping and reports.  As soon as we can, we'll get everything "official."

Our LipReading class is continuing to meet weekly through Zoom.  Thanks go out to Linda DeGuire and several of the loyal classmates who have mastered the use of video-conferencing!

Since there was no election of new officers in April 2020 because of the pandemic restrictions, our officers agreed to remain in their current positions until April 2021.  We are hopeful that we will be able to meet in person soon to elect new officers.  Until that is possible, we owe a debt of gratitude to our current officers for staying the course.

All dues and Informer fees will roll over to 2021.

 

We invite veterans with hearing loss to attend the next Veterans Across America Virtual Chapter Meeting (VAAVC) online using Zoom.

Date:  Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Time: 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT, 5 p.m. PT
Topic:  Open Meeting

Please join our open meeting and we look forward to seeing you.
Cilck here to register for the meeting.

Date: February 23, 2021

Time: 2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, 12 p.m. MT, 11 a.m. PT
Click here to register for the meeting.

Each of us has a story – several really – that goes beyond our hearing loss, our hearing aids and the challenges we face living with them. What ‘s your story? Have you used your talents – your writing, your art, your music, your voice – to share your story with others?

Stu Nunnery and Laurel Jonason will share excerpts from their new screenplay, “Good Enough,” to illustrate how authentic, three dimensional characters go beyond their hearing loss to turn what once was “perfect” into “good enough” and how Hollywood has begun to take note.

Speaker: Stu Nunnery and Laurel Jonason

Stu Nunnery is a graduate of Princeton University. He has studied piano, voice, acting, improvisation and public speaking in New York, Philadelphia and Providence, RI. Stu is a member of the Association of Adult Musicians with Hearing Loss and for his activism in the hearing loss population, Stu is a Phonak “hEARo” and a “HearStrong Champion.”

Laurel Jonason is an RN with a forty-year career that included twenty-six years at Yale New Haven’s Neonatal Infant Care Unit, caring for sick, premature, and compromised infants. She wrote and spoke extensively promoting ways to support families whose infants had died. For “Excellence in Nursing,” Laurel received the Nightingale Award and is a past member of Yale’s Staff Nurse Council representing over 2000 RN’s in Collaborative Governance at Yale. Now retired, she sings lead in a Sweet Adeline’s women’s acapella chorus in concerts and competitions. She is also studying acting and piano and collaborated with Stu Nunnery in writing their screenplay “Good Enough.”

Who Cares What We Call Our Hearing Loss?
Gael Hannan

I’ve shocked myself. For the first time ever, I’ve told someone that I’m deaf.

Deaf – I’ve  never used that term to describe my hearing levels – or lack of.  For the first two thirds of my life, I described myself as hard of hearing. In the most recent third of my life, I use the term hearing loss, as in Hi, I’m a person with hearing loss. I have hearing loss, please speak up.

But lately, in pandemic-time, when I have to ask yet another masked salesperson or clerk to repeat themselves, I throw in an explanatory, “I’m deaf.”   ....
Continue reading here

Copyright © 2021 HLAA Long Beach/Lakewood Chapter, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp